The Academy Fellows

The Australian Academy of the Humanities has 593 Fellows; 52 are Corresponding Fellows, and 85 are Honorary Fellows.

The approved abbreviation or post-nominal for a Fellow is FAHA.

Fellows may update their record via an online form available in the Fellows' Area.

Professor Tony Bennett AcSS FAHA
Western Sydney University
Qualifications: BA (Oxford), MA, DPhil (Sussex)
Year Elected to the Academy: 1997
Discipline: Cultural & Communication Studies
Expertise: Cultural studies and cultural policy studies; the history and theory of museums and exhibition; cultural history; the sociology of art and literature.

Tony Bennett was educated at Oxford and Sussex Universities, and held his first positions at the University of Bristol and the Open University (UK) before moving to Griffith University in 1983 where he was appointed to a personal chair in 1994. While at Griffith University he established the Institute for Cultural Policy Studies and, later, the Australian Key Centre for Cultural and Media Policy of which he was the foundation Director. He has held his current position as Professor of Sociology at the Open University since 1998. He is currently a Director of the ESRC Centre for Research on Socio-cultural Change.
Search Fellows
Browse by Member Type
Address: 3 Liversidge Street
Acton, Canberra ACT 2601
Ph: (+612) 6125 9860
Fax: (+612) 6125 9142