The Academy is governed by an 11-member Council and supported by our team in Canberra. The team is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Academy, working closely with our President and Council to achieve our strategic goals.

The team’s purpose is to inform, connect and inspire the humanities and broader community through the implementation of the Academy’s strategic goals and objectives.

Inga Davis, Executive Director

Executive Director

Inga Davis

Inga joined the Academy as Executive Director in February 2023. 

She has nearly 20 years’ experience working in and consulting to the higher education sector, having held senior appointments at the University of Adelaide (Chief Executive, External Relations) and the University of Canberra (Director, Advancement, Marketing and Communications and previously, Director of the Vice-Chancellor’s Office). 

Before joining the Academy Inga held the position of Principal at Research Strategies Australia, where she worked with and for a range of stakeholders in the higher education, defence and health sectors.  

Inga has served as a member of the University of Canberra Council and was a Director of the University of Canberra Union. She is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Bachelor of Communications (Public Relations and Information Management) and a Graduate Certificate in Business Administration from the University of Canberra.   


Director, Policy & Research

Dr Kylie Brass, overseeing our policy efforts, research agenda, and special projects.

Senior Policy Analyst

Dr Jon Lane, supporting the development and implementation of the Academy’s policy strategy.

Director, Operations & Strategy (Part-time)

Shane Breynard, overseeing operations and strategic development.

Administration & Committees Coordinator

Sophie Chessell, responsible for office management and administrative support to Council, Secretariat and Committees.

Fellowship & Awards Coordinator (Part-time)

Samantha Tutton, overseeing our Fellowship services, including electoral process and AGM, and grants and awards.

Acknowledgement of Country

The Australian Academy of the Humanities recognises Australia’s First Nations Peoples as the traditional owners and custodians of this land, and their continuous connection to country, community and culture.