Awards Celebration

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

This special event will bring together recipients of our major awards from 2020 and 2021 with Fellows, Academy Staff and Council as well as members of the humanities community.

Event details

When: 4.00pm-5.00pm (AEDT), Thursday 18th November
Where: Zoom

John Mulvaney Fellowship Recipients 2020/2021


Dr Carol McGregor

Carol McGregor is of Wadawurrung, (Kulin Nation) and Scottish descent and works with multimedia including ephemeral natural fibres, paint, clay, metal, and paper. Her studio-based research rationale is a desire to unearth and to visually activate histories and memories to further inform an Australian Aboriginal sense of belonging. McGregor’s recent art practice revives the traditional possum skin cloak as an art form and a way to strengthen community and individual identities. With her practice McGregor has worked extensively with Indigenous communities facilitating workshops, teaching and sharing the knowledge and skills around possum skin cloak making. McGregor has exhibited widely and her work features in national and international collections. She is currently the Program leader of the Contemporary Australian Indigenous Art unit at the Queensland College of Art, Griffith University.


Zoe Rimmer

Zoe is a Pakana (Tasmanian Aboriginal) community member from a large extended family from Flinders and Cape Barren Island, with Ancestral connections to the northeast coast of Lutruwita/Tasmania. Zoe has grown up connected to her community, country and culture, and has learnt the cultural skills of basket making and shell stringing from her Elders – traditions she is now passing on to her own daughter, 10year old Eve. Zoe also loves to travel and explore new places and cultures.

Zoe started her career as a Trainee at the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TMAG) and has now worked in the museum and cultural heritage management sector for the past 18 years. She is currently the Senior Curator of First Peoples Art and Culture at TMAG and in 2019 was awarded a Senior Indigenous Research Scholarship at the University of Tasmania (UTAS). Zoe’s PhD candidature at UTAS follows on from her work in repatriation and First Nations museology. From 2008-2010 Zoe took some time out from TMAG to work for Aboriginal Heritage Tasmania to diversify her experience across Aboriginal heritage management and protection of in situ cultural heritage and landscapes and to gain skills in policy and government administration.

Crawford Medal Recipients 2020/2021


Dr Billy Griffiths

Dr Billy Griffiths is a historian and lecturer in Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies at Deakin University in Melbourne. His latest book, Deep Time Dreaming: Uncovering Ancient Australia (Black Inc., 2018), won the Ernest Scott Prize, the Felicia A. Holton Book Award, the John Mulvaney Book Award, the Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction and the 2019 Book of the Year at the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. He is also the author of The China Breakthrough: Whitlam in the Middle Kingdom, 1971 (Monash University Publishing, 2012) and co-editor with Mike Smith of The Australian Archaeologist’s Book of Quotations (Monash University Publishing, 2015). He received the 2020 Max Crawford Medal from the Australian Academy of the Humanities.


Dr André Brett

Dr André Brett is a historian of Australia and New Zealand. His research encompasses political, environmental, economic, and transport themes. His many publications include four books, most recently Can’t Get There from Here: New Zealand Passenger Rail since 1920 (Otago University Press), currently available for preorder. He will be Lecturer of History at Curtin University from 2022, having recently held fellowships at the University of Wollongong and the National Library of Australia. He is currently researching two projects on colonial Australia, the environmental history of railways and territorial separation movements.

Medal for Excellence in Translation Recipient 2020


Penny Hueston

Penny Hueston’s translations from French include novels by Emmanuelle Pagano (One Day I’ll Tell You Everything), Patrick Modiano (Little Jewel), Sarah Cohen-Scali (Max) and Raphaël Jerusalmy (Evacuation). She has translated six books by Marie Darrieussecq—All the WayMenBeing Here: The Life of Paula Modersohn-BeckerOur Life in the ForestThe Baby, and Crossed Lines. She has been shortlisted for the JQ-Wingate Prize, the Scott Moncrief Prize, and twice for the New South Wales Premier’s Translation Prize. She was the winner of the 2020 Medal for Excellence in Translation.

About the Symposium

The connected crises of climate change and biodiversity decline pose a multitude of threats to humanity. With the scale of the challenge demanding both the attention and collaborative endeavour of experts across the research sector, our 52nd Annual Symposium will examine the insights and solutions the humanities and arts can bring to these critical issues.

The Symposium will showcase ideas from established and emerging scholars from many disciplines – not only from the field of environmental humanities but also researchers with expertise in ethics, justice, emotions, ethical technology, art and design, cross-cultural analysis and linguistics whose work offers a new lens on the social and cultural dimensions of the climate crisis. Speakers will also consider how the humanities disciplines might need to adapt to be more effective in a volatile world where the category ‘human’ is being re-examined in the context of the Anthropocene and the ‘more-than-human’.

>> Explore the full 52nd Annual Academy Symposium program

Acknowledgement of Country

The Australian Academy of the Humanities recognises Australia’s First Nations Peoples as the traditional owners and custodians of this land, and their continuous connection to country, community and culture.