Thomas Keneally

Mr Thomas Keneally

  • Post Nominals: FAHA
  • Fellow Type: Honorary Fellow
  • Elected to the Academy: 2009


Thomas Keneally is considered to be one of Australia’s most prolific writers and is known for his novels, non-fiction and screenplays. He was awarded a Commonwealth Literary Fund grant in 1966 and the Miles Franklin Literary Award for Best Australian Novel of the Year in 1967 (for Bring Larks and Heroes) and 1968 (for Three Cheers for the Paraclete). In 1983 he was awarded an Order of Australia for his services to Australian Literature and was listed as an Australian National Living Treasure in 1997. He was a Member of the Literature Board of the Australian Council (1985-88), President of the National Book Council (1985-89), Director of the Australian Republican Movement and council member of the Australian Society of Authors since 1981. He was awarded a Doctor of Letters by the University of Technology Sydney in 2013.
He lives in Sydney with his wife, and is Number 1 ticket-holder of the Manly-Warringah Rugby League team.

Acknowledgement of Country

The Australian Academy of the Humanities recognises Australia’s First Nations Peoples as the traditional owners and custodians of this land, and their continuous connection to country, community and culture.