Kim Scott

Professor Kim Scott

  • Post Nominals: FAHA
  • Fellow Type: Honorary Fellow
  • Elected to the Academy: 2012


Kim Scott is Professor of Writing at Curtin University. His most recent novel is That Deadman Dance and his other books include True Country, Benang and Kayang and Me. He has won many Australian literary awards, among them the Miles Franklin Literary Award (twice), the Western Australian Premier’s Award (twice), the Kate Challiss RAKA Award (twice), the Victorian Premier’s Literary Prize, the regional Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and the Australian Literature Society’s Gold Medal. He is also the recipient of an Australian Centenary Medal (2003) and is the 2012 West Australian of the Year, having been nominated in both the Indigenous and Arts and Culture categories.

A descendant of people living along the south coast of Western Australia prior to colonisation and proud to be one among those who call themselves Noongar, Kim is founder and chair of the Wirlomin Noongar Language and Story Project which, among other achievements, has resulted in the publication of two English/Noongar language picture books, Mamang and Noongar Mambara Bakitj (UWA Publishing).

Acknowledgement of Country

The Australian Academy of the Humanities recognises Australia’s First Nations Peoples as the traditional owners and custodians of this land, and their continuous connection to country, community and culture.