Tim Winton

Mr Tim Winton

  • Post Nominals: FAHA, AO
  • Fellow Type: Honorary Fellow
  • Elected to the Academy: 2016


Tim Winton is one of Australia’s most recognised and prolific novelists whose work has received numerous prestigious awards and been translated into 28 languages. Winton has won the Miles Franklin Award four times: for Shallows (1984), Cloudstreet (1991), Dirt Music (2001) and Breath (2008). He has been nominated twice for the Man Booker Prize, for Dirt Music and The Riders (1994). Winton has been awarded nearly every major Australian literary prize, including the Australian Vogel National Literary Award, the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Award, the Western Australian Premier’s Book Award, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and the Age Book of the Year award. In addition to his novels, Winton has published several volumes of short stories, plays, and most recently, two autobiographical works. His work has been adapted for the stage and screen, most recently in Cloudstreet, the opera (2016).

Acknowledgement of Country

The Australian Academy of the Humanities recognises Australia’s First Nations Peoples as the traditional owners and custodians of this land, and their continuous connection to country, community and culture.